You are here:

Boat handling sessions

Introduction to boat handling - course dates and venues

You and a fishing partner can spend three hours with a qualified fishing instructor learning how to correctly handle one of our fishing boats.  This should improve your catch rate and enjoyment.

The syllabus will cover correct use of: all parts of the engine; anchor; drogue; boat seat; oars; rollocks and bilge pump. Also how to fish on the drift and the rudder (at Rutland and Pitsford) and also advice on boat etiquette, fishing tactics and clothing.

The course will be available at Rutland (01780 686441), Grafham (01480 810531) and Pitsford Waters (01604 781350) with the day starting at 10am. The cost will be £48 based on two anglers sharing the boat, no reduction for Juniors.

After the instructor has left, you can put into practice what you have learnt by continuing to fish for the rest of the day to a one fish limit and then catch and release per person.  If you don't have a fishing partner we will try and match you with someone else with similar experience.

 

Rutland 2017   Pitsford 2017  Grafham 2017
Monday 8 May  Wednesday 10 May  Tuesday 9 May
Wednesday 24 May   Tuesday 23 May  Monday 22 May
         
Thursday 8 June  Wednesday 7 June  Tuesday 6 June
Monday 12 June  Tuesday 27 June      Tuesday 13 June
Monday 26 June    
Friday 7 July Monday 3 July Tuesday 4 July
Thursday 13 July Wednesday 12 July Thursday 27 July
Thursday 20 July Tuesday 25 July  
 
Wednesday 2 August
Tuesday 8 August

Notes:

This course will be available at Rutland, Grafham and Pitsford Waters and the day will start at 10am.  The cost will be £48pp based on two anglers sharing the boat.

 

 

Copyright © 2017 Anglian Water Services Ltd All rights reserved

Registered in England No. 2366656. Registered Office: Lancaster House, Lancaster Way, Ermine Business Park, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire. PE29 6XU